Custom Menu

Latest From Our Blog

Ilikethis | Setúbal Peninsula: a regiãon between the Tagus and Sado
post-template-default,single,single-post,postid-19771,single-format-standard,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-4.12.1,vc_responsive

Setúbal Peninsula: a regiãon between the Tagus and Sado

Setúbal Peninsula: a regiãon between the Tagus and Sado

The Setúbal Peninsula is a sub-region that is characterized by environmental and landscape diversity, the economic wealth and the population. With nine municipalities, it adds more than 781,000 people and has its history linked to castles, convents, villas and palaces, natural heritage and excellent wines.


Headquarters of the Natural Reserve of the Tagus estuary, Alcochete is a town with about 17,565 inhabitants which is divided in three parishes. It is believed that Alcochete has Arab foundation for two reasons: the origin of Al Caxete name and the location of the Church, which has been built over an Arab temple.


In the sub-region of Setubal, Almada is the sixth most populous city in Portugal, with over 164,000 inhabitants. The county received its charter of D. Sancho I in 1190 and Almada was elevated to city status in 1973. It is thought that Almada has Arab origin, association with the word mine, since during the Arab rule in the Iberian Peninsula was made the exploration of gold deposit of Adiça.


This city of Setúbal Peninsula is divided into four parishes and has more than 78 thousand inhabitants. The origin of Barreiro is associated with a riverside village, repopulated after the reconquest, under the auspices of the Order of Knights of Santiago Espada. Barreiro has a strategic position close to the city of Lisbon and bathed by the river Tagus, is an important road-rail-river terminal.


With over 62,000 inhabitants, Palmela keeps records of human presence from the Neolithic Superior, notably through the testimonies left in the form of Palmela Pot. Occupied by Celts, Romans and Arabs, in 1147 it was conquered by D. Afonso Henriques, receiving its charter in 1185. The strategic position between the Sado and the Tagus potentiate its development.


Divided into six parishes, the county of Seixal has about 184,000 inhabitants and is one of the eight most populous municipalities of Portugal. Although little is known about the early history of Seixal, will most likely have originated in a small nucleus of fishermen and the name will be associated with the large amount of existing pebbles on the riverside beaches.


Capital of the dstrict of the same name, Setúbal has about 121,000 inhabitants and is divided into five parishes. Born of the river and the sea, Setúbal has human occupation records from pre-history, with Neolithic remains collected. The region was visited by Phoenicians, Greeks, Carthaginians and Romans seeking salt and tin.


Moita is located on the left bank of the Tagus estuary and has a riverfront with more than 20 kilometers. With about 66,000 inhabitants, Moita is favored by the riverside location and the richness of sea-river heritage, namely the Naval Shipyard Gaius, the Sarilhos Pequenos Naval Shipyard and Cais da Moita.


Montijo has its history closely linked to the Tagus river, as much of its geographical area is bounded by the same. In Montijo there are archaeological remains dating from the Paleolithic and until 1930 the city was called Aldeia Galega do Ribatejo. In 1985 the town of Montijo was elevated to city status.


Facing the Atlantic Ocean and enriched by the mouth of the Sado, the Arrábida mountains, the Cape Espichel, the lagoon of Albufeira and the beach Meco, Sesimbra is a strong county in terms of natural landscape. From the Chalcolithic period there are traces of human presence in Sesimbra and in 1201 Sancho I awarded him the charter

Know more about this region in the purchase of the 13th edition of I Like This. 

No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.